Tag Archives: Ukraine Orthodox Christmas

Christmas Day in The Ukraine – January 7, the Orthodox Christmas date

Many Ukrainians have a day off on Christmas Day, which celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ. It is an annual public holiday across Ukraine and falls on January 7, the Orthodox Christmas date.

Christmas for many Ukrainians is an important family holiday. When Ukraine was part of the former Soviet Union, Christmas Day was not a public holiday but Christmas traditions were not forgotten. After Ukraine gained its independence in 1991, Christmas Day was made a public holiday.

Many Orthodox Christian churches in Ukraine observe the Christmas Day date from the Julian calendar, which is different from the more commonly used Gregorian calendar. So, while Christmas is still on December 25 in the Julian calendar, it appears on January 7 in the Gregorian calendar, up until 2100. After that, the Gregorian date for Orthodox Christmas will be January 8 in 2101.

Holidays and Observances in Ukraine in 2021

Date Name Type
Jan 1 Friday New Year’s Day National holiday
Jan 7 Thursday Orthodox Christmas Day National holiday, Orthodox
Jan 14 Thursday Orthodox New Year Observance, Orthodox
Jan 22 Friday Ukrainian Unity Day Observance
Jan 25 Monday Tatiana Day Observance
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine’s Day Observance
Mar 8 Monday International Women’s Day National holiday
Mar 20 Saturday March Equinox Season
Mar 28 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Apr 1 Thursday April Fools Observance
May 1 Saturday Labor Day National holiday
May 2 Sunday Orthodox Easter Day National holiday, Orthodox
May 3 Monday Orthodox Easter Day holiday National holiday, Orthodox
May 9 Sunday Victory Day / Memorial Day National holiday
May 9 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
May 10 Monday Victory Day / Memorial Day observed National holiday
May 15 Saturday Europe Day Observance
May 30 Sunday Kiev Day Observance
Jun 20 Sunday Orthodox Pentecost National holiday, Orthodox
Jun 21 Monday June Solstice Season
Jun 21 Monday Orthodox Pentecost holiday National holiday, Orthodox
Jun 28 Monday Constitution Day National holiday
Jul 4 Sunday Navy Day Observance
Jul 7 Wednesday Kupala Night Observance
Jul 8 Thursday Family Day Observance
Jul 28 Wednesday Baptism of Kyivan Rus Observance
Aug 24 Tuesday Independence Day National holiday
Sep 22 Wednesday September Equinox Season
Oct 3 Sunday Teacher’s Day Observance